So What’s Wrong with Water ??

I was at a lovely Health and Healing Trade Fair this weekend. Met a lot of interesting people and quite a few people came to my booth to see my BlackBox Cosmetics products. If they were a willing listener, I told them some of the great features of these products. ( natural, 90% organic, airless containers, and water is not the first ingredient )

One of them asked ” So what is wrong with water in skin and hair care ?

Nothing wrong with water.. in fact good clear clean water is a great way to nourish your skin ! Drinking at least 8 – 10 oz glasses of water will help keep you hydrated. There is only so much a moisturizer can do if we don’t hydrate from within. We need water to wash off our make up and wash with our products.

However, our founder, Kevin Evans found -when researching skin care products before launching his own brand – that most skin care had water listed as it’s first ingredient. So, if you know labelling laws, the first ingredient in a list is the one that is the most prominent – the most percentage !!

He found that many were 50-75% water.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t really like paying money for a diluted product. It goes for food, drinks or personal care products. If it is diluted, you will need more to do the same job, and you will not get the same effect of any nutrients that are in it.

I did an informal survey on Facebook  that didn’t turn out QUITE like I expected, but I did find that most of the personal care products ( besides toothpaste but that is another subject ) did have water as it’s first ingredient.

BlackBox Cosmetics is different. The first ingredient is Aloe Vera, and you won’t find water listed in the ingredients. ( you won’t find David Suzuki’s toxic dozen either ). People that test the product take a blob of the serum for the back of their hand and find it would have done their entire face. I smile, for I already know that they have way too much for their hands. It is a serum, not a diluted lotion. I like it that way.

I am spoiled.

Perhaps you would like to see how far a small blob of Infusion AM, Defiance PM or Radiance will go .. or how little shampoo you need when it is not all water..  I have a limited number of samples but can get more.

Nothing wrong with water… in fact I think I just might need a glass !

About Terry Jago

Retired nurse manager interested in living my best life with natural and healthy living choices.
This entry was posted in Skin Care, healthy living. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to So What’s Wrong with Water ??

  1. I think I’m the toothpaste girl!!! And yes, water is definately the most obviously and well-used (and least expensive) ingredient. Is that bad? I don’t know, but I’m enjoying reading about it!

    • jagoterry says:

      You and one other had toothpaste. I have taken most of the flouride out of my life ( as much as I can filter out of the water and none in my dental care or toothpaste. It is a conteversial subject for sure !!

  2. Rob says:

    I never looked to see whats in the products… but aloe is great for the skin.. we have plants that we use when needed..

  3. Yes, my cleanser did have water as the first ingredient. I hadn’t thought about it before.

  4. GoodyLady says:

    I love my Lemon Grass and Sisel products. I am willing to try out your products. btw, I can distribute all those awesome samples for you, check out my site on how I find customers for you 🙂 Yes ingredients and their position on the label is very important to know.

  5. I don’t like buying diluted products either. I like that these products don’t have water in them.

  6. Heather Petersen says:

    I no longer use a cleanser but when I did it had water as the main ingredient. I now use water and a norwex cleaning cloth. The cleanest my skin has ever been! I agree that it is important to know what you are using.

  7. Don Purdum says:

    Interesting article. The question is how much water is enough vs too much? I think so many products have strong chemicals they have to dilute them to meet “safe” standards. Whatever that means. Our skin is the biggest organ, and it’s digesting the chemicals we put on it and delivering them through our blood to our organs and muscle tissue. I’m convinced all of the chemicals in our foods, products, and environment are causing much of the cancers.

  8. marknels01 says:

    Never thought about looking for water as an ingredient. Interesting.

  9. Kelly says:

    Aloe Vera is soo good for you..

  10. Yvonne Brown says:

    Interesting turnout from your research! Thanks for sharing!

    Yvonne Brown

  11. Veronica says:

    Hmmmm, interesting survey. Never really gave thought to this previously, but sure will be paying attention going forward

  12. Dov Shapira says:

    I have the Nikken water fall for drinking water and I add fresh lemon juice to my water

  13. I planted it on my home yard. There are so many benefits of it. My dad used it for his hair to be thicker, lol.

  14. Sounds like you have some great products! I am going to have to start keeping an eye out for water in ingredients:)

  15. Luke Lovall says:

    I thnk that in time to come the water could be the most expensive ingredient!!

  16. Kimba says:

    I did not know this about beauty products. I’m all about hydration and water, but sounds like many of these products are diluted for no apparent reason?

    • jagoterry says:

      Kimba I think it is the industries standard. We are so used to diluted products and using a LOT of soap, creams etc that we don’t think of why we should need so much. A serum without water just goes farther and feels so good !!

  17. I want a concentrated product, not a water-filled product. I can water it down if I need to myself. I’m not interested in them doing it for me and then I have to pay for it 🙂

  18. katelindsay says:

    I am with Suzanne Michelle. I was going to say the very same thing. My fav products are the ones I use to suit me. I like the concentrated things. I know that they are in safe doses that way too. The price is of course higher but I don’t purchase as regularly.

Leave a Reply

