Special Events bring Special Memories

I am looking forward to my niece’s wedding this weekend. I have been watching Facebook as she has her stagettes, showers  and different pre wedding events and am thankful that I can feel the anticipation from afar.

I love to take my SLR camera and take photographs of the wedding. I love to work on this skill and see if I can get good pictures ( for my own albums – now that is another story ) and for sharing with others. So I anticipate this wedding as being a beautiful garden wedding and a fun reception.

It seems when you are my age, weddings come in waves. First it is you, your friends, sisters and family members, then a gap, when the next generation begins this exciting stage in their lives. It is fun to be an invited guest without all the fuss of planning.

Recent memories of weddings were a niece’s wedding on a cruise ship, a friends daughter’s wedding in the northern wooded area of Saskatchewan, a small town wedding where the whole town comes out to attend the dance, a couple of upscale weddings in a University Faculty Club,  and my own son’s wedding 7 yrs ago this week. It brings back such wonderful memories of beautiful brides, couples in love, friends having fun, and generally a great event. 

Dresses !! Of course the brides dress ( and the bridesmaids and the mothers ) trump all. Recently looking at my wedding pictures 40 yrs ago with my “turtle neck and long sleeves” certainly show how times change.

But also comes the thought of ‘ what should I wear ” and that is always a bit of a challenge. I bought a couple of dresses online that fit nice and are great but just don’t seem right, nor do they seem to fit the warm weather and potential warm venue. So I was able to find a reasonably priced dress that seems “just right’ today.

So as I pack for this weekend, I think back to other weddings and pictures of me. I am so glad to have found a solution to the rosacea that turned up in every picture of me at a wedding. Until I discovered Geniskin from BlackBox, the pictures were always a bit embarrassing. All the makeup I used to hide my redness and bumpiness would wear off by mid reception.  So, I am not packing my green coverup, and although my face may get red from the heat, those dreaded bumps will not appear.  This will be a change !

Anxious to see pictures of this wedding and compare.

About Terry Jago

Retired nurse manager interested in living my best life with natural and healthy living choices.
This entry was posted in Skin Care, healthy living. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Special Events bring Special Memories

  1. Celeste says:

    I hope your pictures came out great! I love weddings to! Congrats for your niece!

Leave a Reply

