Dreaming – come along with me !

I HAVE A DREAM

A few days ago several Facebook posts talked about this being the anniversary  of Martin Luther King’s speech with that title. That got me thinking – Martin Luther King’s dream was certainly one that we know about – and one that still isn’t completely fulfilled. But also that I have a dream. I am sure you do too !

Over the years I have had many dreams – some which took  convoluted ways to coming true. Sometimes I had to revise the dream in order to look back and say “yes.. that may not be what I really wanted, but it is still good.”

In the same way, today’s dream  is a many faceted dream that I believe will be fulfilled in pieces – for it is hard to fulfill a big dream all in one fell swoop.  And if it takes me on  a convoluted route, I am certainly used to that !

Today’s dream is about my retirement !  I keep on staring retirement in the face, and then know that  the time is not quite right.  Then I wonder, when will the time be right?

“I will retire when”……

My dream of retirement is when I will still have meaningful work to do. I fear my own laziness in retirement that my TV and Computer would become my best friend, that I do very little and not have a purpose.  I dream of perhaps doing some of the same things I do now in my ” real job” but as a consultant. The thought of this, and the thought of my immediate future, to be honest is mixed with fear and anticipation !

There is a part of me that still has a fear of new things, of not knowing the “plan” and not knowing how things are all going to unfold. The other part of me recognizes my skills and abilities and knows that whatever is put in front of me will be fine. Sunday’s sermon at church reminded me that God tells me to ” trust in the Lord  and not to lean on my understanding” and also ” Not to worry about anything, but put our requests to God”.  I do this.. but then darned if I don’t just take it back and wonder about my future!!

Everytime my life seems at a huge crossroads ( and those times have been many) God reminds me of a promise of a future where I will prosper.  The verse that invariably crops up – in the oddest places is Jeremiah 29:11 Now prosper is always not a monetary thing – though one never minds that ! – but a successful life of learning and seeking and leaning on Him.

My dream also includes a successful business with BlackBox Cosmetics. It seems like kind of a fluke that I found this company (if one believes in flukes ), had great results and then decided to ” just do it”.  Since the day in October 2012 that I decided to just invest in my business and work hard at it for awhile.. if not a long while, it has slowly grown and from unexpected places.  I have learned so so much and had a ball doing it !

 BlackBox Cosmetics has a lot of potential for it is like a horse just coming out of the blocks. Not a lot of people know about it, and in Canada, there are very few ISA’s ( independent Sales Consultants ) That means I have to be prepared to be a leader, an innovator, and to believe in myself as much as I believe in BlackBox’s products !  Sometimes it seems slow to start… for the things that make this business so easy to do also make the commissions somewhat sporadic.  I have been in many businesses with mandatory autoship requirements to earn a check. That means that everyone in my line will order X amount of dollars monthly and then I am guaranteed a commission. Not so with BlackBox Cosmetics.. No autoship requirements mean that you never know when people are going to order.. and that can be a nice surprise. In other business adventures I have been in, no matter how good the products are, people fall off the autoship program.

In many ways my dual retirement dream makes sense. In both I will be learning new things and stretching myself. In both I will have to believe in myself and ” just do it”

Come along with me on my dream.  However that looks to you – whether you wish to join me in what may be the bottom of a wonderful business launch, or whether you want to try the products  or whether you want to watch to see me fulfill these dreams.  Either way, come along and lets have a lot of fun !

And no matter what, I will not be alone.

“For I know the plans I have for you” declares the Lord, ” plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future”

Jeremiah 29:13

About Terry Jago

Retired nurse manager interested in living my best life with natural and healthy living choices.
Aside | This entry was posted in BlackBox Cosmetics, Living life, Skin Care, healthy living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Dreaming – come along with me !

  1. Lloyd says:

    I enjoyed reading this 😉

  2. John Hurd says:

    All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them. ~Walt Disney ~
    http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/topics/topic_dreams.html#cszK4Bj1FQlOtuod.99
    I really did enjoyed reading your article. Looking forward to more of your post.

  3. Vene' says:

    what a wonderful promise Jeremiah 29:11 is. When we remove self and learn to rest in God….He will direct us and all will work out..

  4. Jeff Brand says:

    I enjoyed reading this too and about your dreams.

  5. Gangesh says:

    Work for your dream, Great post!

  6. Rob Manea says:

    You will retire and fulfill your dream!

  7. John Hurd says:

    Don’t let go of your dreams. If you have determination and belief in your dreams, you will succeed in spite of your desire to let go. ~ Catherine Pulsifer ~

  8. Jim Striegel says:

    I hope you can retire soon, so you can follow your dream.

  9. Our dreams are what end up shaping our reality, keep going! 🙂

  10. Robyn says:

    Great thoughts – my Dad is going through the same emotions right now … I will retire when … I will have to direct him to your post!

  11. Irene S. says:

    Definitely pursure your dreams. I am with you that I do have the dream of being able to retire comfortably. I am not there yet but when I get there, I will still fulfill my purpose of helping people and giving back to the world in my small meaningful way.

  12. Dov Shapira says:

    I wish you great luck with all your dreams

  13. I love to dream…keeps me going. I do love my job and don’t really look at it as a job.

  14. Very positive post:) I look forward to you being able to fulfill your dreams! 🙂

  15. Don Purdum says:

    Great post!!! Dreams are what move us forward. I’m excited to hear of yours and I will hope and pray that they come true!!!!

  16. Karen says:

    Dreams and goals are so closely inter-related. I find them to be so similar though I think dreams can be a bit loftier.

Leave a Reply

