Life a series of Peaks and Valleys

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

British moral philosopher Bernard Williams  is quoted with:

  ” Life is supposed to be a series of peaks and valleys. The secret is to keep the valleys from becoming the Grand Canyon “

I have never seen the Grand Canyon, (note to self – add that to ever growing bucket list) but the pictures I brings to mind something so big and deep that climbing out seems like a near impossibility. For many of us, the lows of life are like that.. a deep gorge without a view of the way out.

I am lucky. My faith in God, my past history, and my “Pollyanna like” optimism gets me doing some of the walking through these valleys with hope and a knowledge that there will be a better day ahead. Turns out my optimism was correct.. and my husband is much improved and going through treatments like a trooper. God does answer our prayers.

I wish that I could always REALLY believe what I know to be true…for there were a lot of times of anger at God, anger at my sick husband, and anger at life as it is.  I spent some time in pity and in doubt.  I guess that is being ‘human’.  And I am certainly that !

So I thank God that He kept us from seeing this as a Grand Canyon type of experience, and kept us looking up, not down into an incredible hole.

So some things that seemed overwhelming now are part of our “Shall we tackle that this weekend ?” conversations. Lake property is almost winterized, “new” windows will soon be in, closet is assembled and some of our plans for our beautiful daughter’s wedding to her high school sweetheart are now starting to come into place.

Thank you to my family and friends  for just being there in our valley season.

 

About Terry Jago

Retired nurse manager interested in living my best life with natural and healthy living choices.
This entry was posted in Skin Care, healthy living and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Life a series of Peaks and Valleys

  1. Michele says:

    That valley season went from bad to worse, but I only ever saw you get better at it! . . Really inspires me to trust God more and more! Thanks Terry.

  2. Merle Hagerty says:

    These are true words of wisdom, experience and faith.

  3. Viviann Napp says:

    I’ve come to a gradual realization that getting angry is really pointless. It takes to much energy to get back into focus and balance. But perhaps the anger has to run its course and each time around there’s just a bit less energy invested in anger. Getting out of that deep valley requires laser sharp focus and faith. Looks like you’re on your way!

  4. Bruno Buergi says:

    I think we all have times when we are angry about the circumstances in our life and have our doubts that things will work out in a good way. But as you said, you must trust that all will be good.

  5. Terry,you both soldiered on through the valley but looking up:) I am relieved,inspired and grateful for you now moving forward to better days with lots of plans, how delightful to have a wedding to organize and enjoy.
    Life is indeed a series of Peaks and Valleys 🙂
    Jacs

Leave a Reply

