One of these things is not like the other

“One of these things is not like the other “

Any motheryoga poses from the 1980’s will remember that song that was a daily ditty in our lives. Well that is what came to mind as I settled into my Vinyasa Yoga class this morning.  Half the class was male, and there was not a grey hair in the place ! Average age 30+ and ME… happy retired “pensioner”. Did I pick the wrong class ?

Our mind can go into some pretty self defeating thoughts. Although I have learned through a few years of yoga practice, that we don’t compare ourselves to others and to do what your body can do.. not what everyone else does – my mind did go there. “How am I supposed to do a practice meant for people 30 years younger than me?”

I want to let you know that the class was fine, my mind took a turn elsewhere and although most of those younger people didn’t come home to a couch and a cup of tea, that is okay with me.  I did most of it, adapted what I need to, and feel much better for it.

I love my Yoga practice. It has given me more flexibility, a way to relax my very busy mind, a way to relax my muscles and my body (my friend and massage therapist used to say “the only way to get you to relax is to trick you” !) – and a surprising core strength that helps me with other exercise. When I forget to go, or life’s busyness takes precedence over heading out with my bolster and mat, I know in my stiff hips and restless sleep that I need to continue this.

Just a side thought – as I know I have some Christian followers, as I did our last pose ( Savasana or sometimes known as “corpse pose” for the more macabre)  – I  remembered a conversation with some Christian friends re “emptying the mind” and the concerns about that. My practice is very attuned to my beliefs – and the so called emptying of the mind for me, becomes that prayerful, peaceful space sometimes we reach just before sleep.  And probably nobody notices that I don’t utter Namaste.. but instead pray that the light within me will be that light of Christ. 

Yes, my mind plays tricks on me – makes me feel self conscious when I go left instead of right in the Wednesday morning dance class, or a flow yoga, makes me wonder if I can take the stress of life some days, makes me feel just a little less than that lady with the lovely figure  seated next to me.   But as my yoga instructors say ” reign that mind back”. For me in my day to day life, some of it stressful, I do reign my mind back, and suddenly I am not a 65 year old woman trying to do a thirty something’s yoga practice, but I am me, pushing my body to an eventual ” fitness” that is just right for me.

For those of you who know me well – this is a path many times I have avoided !! In fact I gleefully posted that if you see me running you better run too, as something must be chasing me.. but that part is  still true.

My mind has taken a lot of reigning in lately.

 

About Terry Jago

Retired nurse manager interested in living my best life with natural and healthy living choices.
This entry was posted in Skin Care, healthy living. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to One of these things is not like the other

  1. kimdalferes says:

    You are encouraging me to get back to my yoga class, which I’ve skipped for the past few months because of a tricky left knee. No more excuses! Namaste. 🙂

  2. jagoterry says:

    i am glad Kim.. it is a life saver for me !

  3. jagoterry says:

    Though hard on knees at times !

  4. What a great article, thanks for sharing. I remember the days when I used to be able to do Yoga ! About 40 years ago now and I remember looking around on my first day and thinking “How on Earth?” ….. People were in all sorts of shapes and positions. Should have kept going at it and maybe I wouldn’t be so disabled now !

    • jagoterry says:

      we started in our 60’s when parts of us were very stiff. My hubby does it too and he has gone from very stiff and almost debilitated to much more flexible. Yes sometimes saying ” how on earth…..”

  5. Mary Sloane says:

    Oh so true our minds can certainly be full of trickery.

    And oh how we love to compare ourselves to others

    I use a yoga pose constantly to keep my hips and back from doing nasty things to me unfortunately it is the only pose I use regularly.

    Thanks for the reminders

    To your best year ever

    Mary

  6. jagoterry says:

    Thanks for your comment. I seem to need a class to guide me and keep me motivated but good for you finding a pose that works for you ..

  7. Reading your blog reminded me of how easy it is to talk ourselves out of doing something that is good for us. It is so easy to be self-defeating. But the other point your blog pointed to is it is just as easy to talk yourself into self-love and confidence. So what if everyone one else is 20 something in the room. I’ll bet when they are 60 somethings they will remember seeing you and have new respect for you. Love the blog.

    Kathleen O’Keefe-Kanavos

  8. Reba Linker says:

    Really enjoyed your post, Terry. I love that you managed to do YOUR yoga class and not let the comparisons get to you. yay, you! Even though I am not one of your Christian followers, I also related to how you made the final prayer your own. I do the same thing! Blessings, Reba

  9. Nathalie says:

    Terry, I am a born again Christian and my new faith have taken me on the most amazing journey and business! I met a great lady recently who is a Buddhist and she offers Yoga classes. Some people warned me about practicing Yoga. I liked the distinction you made about some poses and how you see ‘the emptying of the mind” for you “becomes that prayerful, peaceful space”. Very cool!

    Thank you for sharing!

    • jagoterry says:

      I am glad this helped. I do get warned and I listen and discern. I do think that some studios are less ” eastern religion” orientated than others, and that is the type I joined.

Leave a Reply

